Sally White, Food Lover – Kennington’s hidden gem

Sally White, Food Lover
353 Kennington Road
Kennington
London
SE11 4QE

20131112-222927.jpg

Recently, I celebrated my 5 year anniversary as a resident of the United Kingdom – yes I know, I can hardly believe it myself. Without a doubt I can give the Immigration Office at least a dozen reasons to get rid of me and those are only the ones I remember off the top of my head. Then again, we did go through a pesky global recession so whatever contributions I had to society were somewhat welcomed or at least tolerated. I am sure the amount I’ve spent stuffing my face over the years is the equivalent of a small country’s GDP. You are welcome Gordon and now David – just doing my bit for the community.

Anyway, I took this as an opportunity to reflect on what else has happened these past 5 years; when I first arrived, the number 1 song in the country was “The Promise” by the band formerly known as Girls Aloud; not long after Cheryl Cole subsequently became the UK’s darling excelling as a judge on the X-Factor (though I’m still in the ‘Bring back Danni” camp – sorry T) and having a pretty successful solo career; then she threw it all away by going to the States and completely flopping. So to recap, my time in the UK has been defined by the rise and fall of Cheryl Cole. Let’s hope they ask a few questions relating to her in the “Life in the UK” test otherwise I am screwed.

20131112-222859.jpg

For the majority of my time in the UK, I’ve called the Oval/Kennington area home, venturing from a SW9 postcode up the road 5 mins to SE11. Throughout this time, I’ve always longed for a place to go to where I could find a decent coffee and a leisurely bite to eat. Alas, this was not to be in the early years with the closest thing I could find being the local Chicken Palace (which has now subsequently been re-branded the Palace Grill – I dare not ask why…).

Well, years of waiting have finally come to an end with the arrival of Sally White, Food Lover which is tucked away in the central lot of shops on Kennington Road. I could go on and on and on about it but this is all you need to know: Coffee, good. Food, fresh with a touch of home. Ambiance, relaxed.

20131112-222735.jpg 20131112-222748.jpg20131112-222830.jpg 20131112-222845.jpg

I really don’t know what else I can say about it that will do it justice so I’m going to let the pictures do the talking for me (a picture can mean a thousand words etc).

20131112-222914.jpg 20131112-222950.jpg20131112-222813.jpg 20131112-222802.jpg

If you live in the area or are just passing through and are in need of a caffeine fix or a bite to eat, stop by and say hi to the friendly staff at Sally White’s. Chances are, you’ll probably see me there with my usual flat white and a daily fresh eat making up for lost time.

KS

Leave a Reply

