Burgermeister – worth a trip to Berlin

I was lazy in Germany, but teutonic efficiency is in the water over there, and Burgermeister is just that good.

20130903_180041

I feel like I’d heard of it, but it was pure luck that led us to stumble across it. We just happened to be wandering the neighbourhood. Good job too. I wasn’t even particularly hungry, but I could hardly pass up an opportunity to taste quality hamburger (or at least I assumed it was going to be). It’s in an odd spot, essentially in a traffic island underneath the railway tracks, not that it detracts any from the flavour of the burger.

20130903_174409

As you can see, it’s cooked a nice medium. The Germans have done well here – this is definitely in my top five. It’s juicy, meaty and generously seasoned. I went for the Bar-b-q burger, which was plenty tasty, but a rookie order. I need to learn to go past bacon. C’s Cheeseburger was the superior sandwich. It really is up there.

20130903_174256

We decided to get amongst the Chilli Cheese Fries. We were not disappointed. I love that oozy artificial cheese, and the Chilli provided just the right heat to offset that cheesy tang. They’re good chips, but nothing special without the topping.

20130903_173925

I love the space – it seems like their seats are always full, and people have to make do with any perch they can find. No-one seems to mind though. These burgers were so good, I convinced everyone to go back the next day for round two. If you’re going to Berlin, or even thinking about it, make sure you get along.

B

20130903_173445

Leave a Reply

