The Greek Islands made me lazy

So I was a little lazy while I was away. I ate so much deliciousness, but slacked off on the photo and note-taking. As a result, I’ve decided to write a combined post of some of the highlights. I may not even have some of the restaurant names right, but I still want to share.

20130830_132211

We kicked off our trip in Mykonos. My first instinct was to find Souvlaki, and it didn’t take too long. Sakis Grill house is a poky little fast food joint right in the middle of the Mykonos Labyrinth (Kalogera 7, Mykonos Town, Greece). At first, I hit up the lamb kebab (tasty, but not blow me away tasty), but then I found the beef. Chunks of salty, herby, moreish beef in a soft pitta (why can’t you get the amazing greek pitta anywhere else? It’s like french bread outside france – a poor cousin), accompanied by salad, yoghurt dressing, and chips. Perfection.

20130829_203224

Greece has mastered the art of frying, and what better to fry than cheese? They call it Saganaki, which is the name of the pan in which they work their magic. Once we discovered Saganaki, I think we ordered it at every meal. We even tried it deep fried (I’ll admit on that occasion to ordering two types of fried cheese on that evening).

20130902_121121

I became a big fan of the local Beer: Mythos. It has a great name and really helped with the heat. Sadly, it didn’t help at all with the waistline. Fried Cheese + Souvlaki + Chips + Beer is a combination made in visceral fat heaven. You’d think the heat and the walking would help. It didn’t – but that’s why you lose weight before a holiday right? So you can put it on again? Equilibrium.

20130830_213332

We found a fantastic restaurant in Santorini called Assyrtico (Ipapantis 40, Fira, Greece). We’re not alone in our love – Trip Advisor ranks it 11th in Fira (the main town), so we can’t be too far off. It sits above the main tourist trail with wonderful views over the bay and volcano.  It’s here where I ate the best moussaka I’ve ever tasted. Rich and cheesy, it tasted fantastic, and unlike some other dishes of its ilk, didn’t sit like a lead weight at the end of the meal. We also tried some delicious wines made from the Assyrtiko grape (the restaurant’s namesake). I recommend both the restaurant and the wine.

20130831_193603

While I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it for the food (though it was perfectly adequate), Sunsets Cafe-restaurant in Oia (84 702, Oia, Santorini) is the best spot to watch the sunset. It’s pricey, but they were happy with us buying a few starters (more Saganaki) and a bottle of wine. We managed to get out of the crush and enjoy some tasty libations while seeing one of the most beautiful sunset experiences in the world (with obligatory clapping).

20130902_212327

The culinary highlight of our trip took place in Athens. After an epic day of sightseeing, We made our way to a place called Kanella (Constantinoupoleos 70 and Eumolpidon, Gazi, Athens, Greece), recommended by a friend. Sadly, I was a bit useless on the photos, but my Kleftiko (lamb cooked in paper) was pure delight. Apparently, it’s a modern take on “Bandit’s Lamb”, which was cooked underground by bandits to avoid being seen. Lamb, more cheese… Delicious. This is also the night we ordered two types of cheese – Halloumi and Deep-fried Saganaki. I’m not proud. In our defence, we did order a Beetroot, Walnut and yogurt salad, which we’ve replicated at home on at least three occasions.

With that, I’m going finish up this shambles of a post. Bottom line – Greece is good at food. Go there.

Leave a Reply

