One night at Joe’s

image_7

Those who know me, know that my favourite drink is none other than the sophisticated and refined pina colada martini*.  However, in the interests of going outside my comfort zone for you, dear reader, I decided to tackle the impressive cocktail menu at Joe’s Southern Kitchen.  All in the name of research.

Now, it had been one of those days when the sun decided to rear its lovely yellow head, the sort of day that ensures that the beautiful, perky, innocent young teens flock to the sunny climes of Covent Garden, ‘hangin’ out’, sneaking cigarettes and swigs of WKD, as I chase after them (and my forgotten youth) screaming “I’m still young too!  I’ll sneak you a cigarette!  Please like me!”….

image_3

All this reminiscing of my misspent youth really made me thirsty and bizarrely humming the theme song to Lou Bega’s 1999 worldwide hit “Mambo No 5”.  Imagine my surprise and delight to discover that the drinks menu included the ingeniously titled cocktail “Mango No 5” – the ultimate homage to the glory days of my 17 year old self.

Like a clandestine cigarette behind the school bike shed, I had to have it.  Top marks for working out that this drink probably had its fair share of mango.  What you probably didn’t know, smarty pants, was that it also included amaretto, lemon and grapefruit, all mixed together in a delightfully fruity, sweet concoction with more than a little hint of almond.  Delicious.  Perfect for day at the beach… or a dark-ish restaurant in Covent Garden (I’m not that fussy when liquor is involved).

My second drink was the drink that wins prizes for the most creative moniker – “Son of a Peach”.  Friends, I’m not going to lie to you – it’s from here that things start to get a little hazy.  Whilst I’m 99.9% positive that it had some sort of peach flavour (I’m deducing this from the name, obvs), my Mango No 5 – and a cheeky post-work Sav Blanc – had pretty much ruined any kind of memory I may have retained for this drink.

After the Son of a Peach, I vaguely remember tasting my fellow diners’ cocktails, and recorded the following erudite and succinct tasting notes:

  • Dark & Smoky – tasted like cigarettes.
  • Espresso Martini – tasted like an alcoholic espresso.
  • Wray ‘n Lye – tasted like lychee.
  • Bloody Mary – tasted like tomatoes and Tabasco mixed together.

image_620130705_200953image_6

After that it was all a bit of a blur.  I imagine I probably over-tipped our friendly waiter, stumbled down the stairs in the restaurant and went on my merry way.  Night over…meanwhile my 17 year alter ego partied on.  Damn her and her youth.

xx TB xx

Leave a Reply

